Get In The OCEAN: Yet Another Personality Test Showdown!

Posted on December 22, 2009

22


Back in April, as part of an “introversion” showdown with PPFP, I posted my Myers-Briggs results and asked you to do the same. The response was tremendous! Conclusion: my friends enjoy personality tests!

If you missed the MBTI post, it’s never too late to add your results! Click here, to join in on (or review) the fun!

So, a couple of weeks ago, at Leadership Ottawa’s 3i Summit, when I learned about the “Big Five” personality traits, I thought, “Aha, new personality test post here I come.” Just in time for those slow-moving holiday work days!

What are the “Big Five” personality traits? According to a heap of independently verified research, they are the five traits to which all personality can be reduced. The traits are (courtesy of Wikipedia):

  1. Openness – appreciation for art, emotion, adventure, unusual ideas, curiosity, and variety of experience.
  2. Conscientiousness – a tendency to show self-discipline, act dutifully, and aim for achievement; planned rather than spontaneous behavior.
  3. Extroversion – energy, positive emotions, urgency, and the tendency to seek stimulation in the company of others.
  4. Agreeableness – a tendency to be compassionate and cooperative rather than suspicious and antagonistic towards others.
  5. Neuroticism – a tendency to experience unpleasant emotions easily, such as anger, anxiety, depression, or vulnerability.

A short version of the test can be found here. According to this test, I’m a O96-C96-E42-A14-N3 (click the link, if you want to learn more about my result). Essentially, I score in the 96th percentile for O & C, the 42nd for E, the 14th for A, and the 3rd for N.

Based on these results, the test tells me: “1) You enjoy having novel experiences and seeing things in new ways; 2) You are very well-organized, and can be relied upon; 3) You are neither particularly social or reserved; 3) You find it easy to criticize others; 4) You probably remain calm, even in tense situations.”

All in all, this seems like a pretty fair assessment. Initially, I didn’t like the notion that that I find it easy to criticize others but it occurs to me that this trait is essential for an inquiring mind such as my own. Criticism itself is not necessarily harmful. Rather, it is more of a question of how one goes about criticizing. Personally, I am working on bringing more sensitivity and thoughtfulness to this inquiring mind of mine.

I would love to know your results and what you think of them! Please take the test and post the results and your reflections below!

Who wants to take bets that PFPP will be more extroverted than me? Again! (Oh, no he didn’t!)

For more posts like this, click here.

Posted in: My Life