The Soft White Light of Drawing.

Posted on May 22, 2010

9


After watching Moulin Rouge the other day, I tweeted the line: “The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is to love and be loved in return.”

I got these two playful replies:

HMsurfacing Seriously, @SterlingLynch – are you going soft on us?

krisjoseph @HMsurfacing I think @SterlingLynch has always been soft at heart. The root of all squares is love.

And Kris is correct! I’ve always been a softy. I also think his literary criticism has more than a grain of truth to it!

With respect to my gooey core, I understand how my gooeiness may not always seem obvious to others. Accordingly, I had no choice but to respond with a Jessica Rabbit reference (of Who Framed Roger Rabbit? Come on people! Keep up with me)

@HMsurfacing @krisjoseph It’s true! I’ve always been a softy. I’m not a heartless robot, I’m just drawn that way. 🙂

Then, coincidentally, shortly thereafter, my friend Von sent this lovely drawing of me.

Sterling Colour Trapped

What I like best about the picture is that Von catches a bit of my inner softy in a way that the camera sometimes overlooks. I guess he’s known me long enough to know it’s there and highlight it.

If you like this picture, click here to check out his site!

Oh! For those of you playing along at home, photo 2 and photo 5 are tied with seven votes each in the “Pick My New Face” survey.

Posted in: My Life