The Game of Living: Are You Playing?

Posted on February 20, 2012

6


Growing up, I was very much a games nerd. I still am, really.

I played everything, from role playing games, like AD&D and Harnmaster, to the classics, like Risk and Monopoly, to complex simulation games, like Rise and Decline of the Third Reich and Squad Leader. I played a lot of Warhammer 40K and Blood Bowl too. These days Settlers of Catan is the go-to choice.

I was such a games nerd that I often bought games I didn’t expect to play because I enjoyed learning the rules. Sometimes, after reading the rules of a game, I decided the game wasn’t worth playing, even if I had paid money for it.

From one perspective, it seems like my life up to this point can be characterized as an effort to learn, consider, and understand the rules of the game of living. The decision I face, now that I’ve learned the rules, is whether or not the game is worth playing.

Are there any other game nerds out there? How do you think games have impacted your life?

Posted in: Identity