The Irrationality of More Rather Than Fewer Nanoseconds of Life and the Extinction of Our Species.

Posted on July 3, 2012

0


On a long enough timeline, the survival rate for everyone drops to zero. This is also true of a species, including our own.

Rationally speaking, it should make no difference to me whether or not I live one nanosecond longer because, once I am dead, my experience of that nanosecond dies with me. From this perspective, it should also make no difference to me whether or not the planet continues to exist one nanosecond longer after I am dead.

Yet, I want as many nanoseconds of life as possible and this irrational desire for more rather than fewer nanoseconds of life extends to the existence of our species, other species, and the planet.

So, after I watch a short video like this one, I am very concerned for the planet and the species on it. I think you will be, too.

I second guess my concern for the planet only when I think about the possibility that other species will eventually take our place. There is, after all, no reason to be attached to the existence of our species and the other species currently on the planet because, on a long enough timeline, the survival rate for every species drops to zero.

Does it concern you that we humans will very likely wipe ourselves out and very many other species on the planet? Why?