2013: I Like the Cut of Your Jib, Sir.

Posted on January 1, 2013

3


20132013, there’s something odd about you. Awkward even.

2010 got all the typical attention you’d expect, even though so many pointed out that 2011 is the actual start of the second decade of the 21st century.

2011, being 2011, did not shy away from soaking in as much of the limelight as it could.

2012 normally would have passed by unnoticed, if it hadn’t been for all that end of the world nonsense.

Now, 2013, you’re upon us and, I have to say, there’s something not-quite-right about you — but in a good way.

You are unsung and, so far, unnoticed. Has anyone written about you? Are you the title of any movie, book, or TV show? Have you figured prominently in any story, prophecy or half-baked theory? Ok. I found one, but solar flares are kind of awesome.

Maybe you stand out because that normally spooky “13” of yours looks full of a strange promise next to the forever sci-fi of your “20”.

Ultimately, who knows what promise you hold? I don’t want to put any pressure on you, 2013.

The main point is this: I like the cut of your jib, sir. Because of that jib, I’m already thinking about the promise of you, which is more than enough to start the year off right.

Nice work, 2013. I can’t wait to see what you have in store.

Posted in: My Life