A Return to Paradise: Sun, Fun, and Reflection.

Posted on March 17, 2014

4


ParadiseIf the travel gods are merciful, by the time you are reading this, I will be on the little piece of paradise where this selfie was taken… wow, was it really five years ago.

A lot has happened since then. Come to think of it. This blog pretty much documents all of it.

Am I any different? I’ve learned a lot in that time, but I don’t feel like there is any dramatic rupture between who I was then and who I am now.

Perhaps, I draw this conclusion because of the blog. The frequent writing might make a rope of all the different threads of these last five years, creating a coherent sense of continuity.

Perhaps, I draw this conclusion because I’m writing this post before I return to paradise. The return to a beauty from which I have long been absent might be the catalyst for insight — not the anticipation of return.

This vacation comes at a good time. It is a much needed break from the routines and rhythms of life here in Ottawa. I will be amongst good people and beautiful surroundings. If nothing else, it will be an incontestable reminder of how lucky I am.

And that’s always a good thing.

Posted in: My Life