In 2015, I Will Try to Give Birth To A Dancing Star. What About You?

Posted on December 31, 2014

4


PregnantWhat a difference a year makes.

You probably wouldn’t have been able to tell by what I wrote and posted last year, but, on New Year’s Eve 2013, I was miserable. I won’t go into the details of who, what, where, why, and how. They were not responsible for my misery. No, not they, but I.

I was miserable because I was not pursuing what I loved, what mattered most to me. It was my choice, and my choice alone.

That night set the stage for a pretty difficult, tiring, and draining year. Through a mixture of hard luck circumstance and lily-livered choice, I cornered myself into a perspective of passivity and misdirected hope. I sat there with my dunce cap jauntily set, and waited pointlessly for something to happen.

2014, nevertheless, was not all blight and gnashing of teeth.

I wrote a pretty good little play, for a pretty neat little project, and I am now working with some talented people to make it happen. I moved to a great new apartment in a great new, but, technically for me, very old neighborhood. I cycled and brunched like nobody’s business. 2014, as tough as it was, set the stage for what is to come, and I know, whatever its precise outcome may be, it will be good.

In 2015, I will attempt to give birth to a dancing star.

I may not succeed. To be honest, I am very likely not to succeed, such is the savage reality of entrepreneurialism, and my own unique take on entrepreneurialism is so far shaping up to be particularly implausible. Let us also not forget that Zarathustra himself, the prophet of the dancing star, ended up broken, penniless, and stark raving mad.

But, who cares!? The choice, the journey, the attempt is what matters, whether the star lives to dance or collapses into a tiny black hole of itself, and I am now in a pretty good position to make a good faith attempt at creating exactly the kind of life I want to live. On this New Year’s Eve, I am peering over the edge of the ever unknown year before me, my belly is pregnant with the possibility of a dancing star, and I am smiling.

I hope you are too. Have a very happy new year’s!

Have you got any dancing stars incubating in your 2015 belly? Let me know what you have baking in your oven with a comment below. If not, why not? It beats watching TV, is much more effective than Prozac, and is guaranteed to add or remove inches wherever you happen to want them added or removed! Millions of doctors agree!

Posted in: My Life