Try a Vegan Diet for the Fun of It: I Double Dare You!

Posted on January 18, 2016

6



SunflowerI’ve been eating a vegan diet now for about nine months. Not surprisingly, I have neither saved the planet nor died of malnourishment. It has been, however, a surprisingly easy lifestyle change and quite a bit of fun.

When I finally decided I had no choice but to test the feasibility of making the switch to a vegan diet, I started with a bit of online research. I thought – maybe even hoped – the change in diet would be too complicated to warrant serious consideration. It turned out, however, to be surprisingly straightforward. I figured out what I needed to add to my diet, then, I went shopping.

Right away, the fun set in. My first trip to the grocery store was more like a scavenger hunt than a routine chore. Even now, when I know where to find the essentials, I still have my eye out for new and tasty options. As a result, my diet now has much more variety and pzazz than it did when I was eating animals. Also, both eating and cooking has become much more fun, as I experiment with a variety of foods that are new or unfamiliar to me.  

It also turns out that there is a vegan version of just about anything you can imagine. To test the claim, I googled and found a recipe for vegan veal. Of course, “animal-free” doesn’t necessarily mean “healthy.” Fat, salt, and calories come in many tasty non-animal forms. On the plus side, a vegan diet doesn’t necessarily require a person to give up comforting junk foods like ice cream, chips, nachos and wings. Judging by my own belly, I should probably take a little less comfort in the vegan equivalents.

So, if you are like me and you like to learn, to embrace new experiences, and to do the right thing for yourself and others, give a vegan diet a try for six days, six weeks, or six months. Make a game of it, and see what happens.

If the vegan diet doesn’t stick with you, the worst thing that can happen, assuming you learn the basics about eating a complete and balanced vegan diet, is that you will make an important short term contribution to your own well-being and the well-being of the planet. You might even learn that you can be happy and healthy eating far less animals than you do now. Of course, if it does stick, you will be well on your way to making a huge and lasting personal contribution to the betterment of the planet.  

Go on. Give it a try. I dare you. I double dare you. You won’t regret it.